Certificates and Endorsements

Reading Specialist Certification


EMU’s Reading Specialist certification program is approved by the Pennsylvania Department of Education and meets content guidelines for Standards for Reading Professionals as established by the International Reading Association. Unique to EMU’s program is an emphasis on literacy in community and family arenas. Candidates participate in developmental coursework and field experiences which may occur within their classroom context. Candidates who hold a valid Pennsylvania Instructional Certificate, successfully complete all Reading Specialist certification courses, and pass the Reading Specialist Praxis Exam #5301 will be recommended to the Pennsylvania Department of Education for certification.

Required Courses (24 credit hours)

Initiatory: (6 credit hours)
EDLA 501 Foundations of Literacy (3)
EDLA 521 Integrated Literacy Instruction (3)

Mid-Level: (12 credit hours)
EDLA 531 Literacy in Community and Family Arenas (3)
EDSL 581 Language and Culture (3)
EDLA 601 Multicultural Children’s Literature (3) OR EDLA 611 Adolescent/Young Adult Literature (3)
EDPC 602 Clinic I: Diagnosis of Reading & Writing Difficulties (3)

Culminating: (6 credit hours)
EDPC 603 Clinic II: Integrative Approach to Assessment & Instruction (3)
EDLA 651 Developing an Effective Reading Program (3)

Earn a Master of Arts in Education degree with a concentration as a Reading Specialist

Admission Requirements

Admission to the MA in Education program is required for Reading Specialist certification. Visit this page for application details.

Additional Certification Information

Praxis #5301


Tuition: $440 per credit

Contact Us

(717) 397-5190 or Toll free 1(866) 368-5262
Email maed.lancaster@emu.edu.