COVID-19 and EMU Learn More >

Committee on Diversity and Inclusion Mission

The Committee on Diversity and Inclusion works to develop and sustain a diverse and welcoming community of learning. It provides education and training on diversity and inclusion; proposes policies and supports practices that foster respect, equity, restorative justice, and dignity for every person. The committee creates spaces for multiple ideas, frameworks, and perspectives to facilitate innovative solutions to oppression, prejudices, and biases. It encourages the critique of dominant narratives and works to develop a campus culture that listens to and learns from counter-narratives. The committee’s work supports pedagogy, policies and practices that build empathy, develop social justice change agents, and strengthen EMU’s commitment to prepare students, faculty and staff to think, serve, and lead in a global context.

Committee on Diversity and Inclusion Members

Kathy Evans - CODI Co-Chair, faculty - Education
Celeste R Thomas, CODI Co-Chair, staff - Director Multicultural Student Services, Senior Advisor to the President on DIversity and Inclusion, Student Athlete Advisor
Talibah Aquil, staff, CJP Adjunct Faculty
Ben Bergey, faculty  - Music Professor 
Stefano Colafrancesci, faculty - Computer Science
Allison Collazo, staff - Director of Counseling Services

Deanna Durham, faculty - Applied Social Sciences
Shannon W. Dycus,  staff - Dean of Students, Student Life

Emily Forrer, recorder, staff, Operations Coordinator of Student Life 
Marci Frederick, staff - Director of Libraries
Ashley (Stick) Kishorn - staff, Field Hockey Coach

Lindy Magness, staff - Assistant Director of Housing and Residence Life
Katie Mansfield, staff- Lead STAR Trainer
Luke Mullet, staff - Admissions Counselor
Christen Peters, staff, Program Associate, CJP
Emily Powell, staff - Residence Director 

Rachel Roth Sawatzky, staff - Director of Student Programs, Title IX Coordinator
Kristopher Schmidt, faculty - Biology Professor 
Tim Seidel, faculty - Applied Social Sciences
Wendell Shank, faculty - Instructor of Spanish 

MaryBeth Showalter, staff - Director of Human Resources
Johanna Turner, faculty - CJP Professor

Text Here...
visit graphicVisit
apply graphicApply