CJP Peacebuilder of the Year Award

The CJP Alumni Award for Peacebuilder of the Year is given annually to CJP alumni who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to CJP’s mission of supporting conflict transformation, restorative justice, trauma healing, development, organizational leadership and peacebuilding efforts at all levels of society.

All of the alumni who have earned master’s degrees or graduate certificates in conflict transformation from CJP are eligible. The award includes tuition for one Summer Peacebuilding Institute course and transportation costs. Nominations may be sent to cjp@emu.edu.

2018 Award – Annette Lantz-Simmons

Annette Lantz-SimmonsAnnette Lantz-Simmons (MA' 2009) commitment towards conflict transformation, has allowed her to expand the work of the Center for Conflict Resolution (CCR) in Kansas City, Missouri. Taking on large-scale issues, such as violence in schools and mass incarceration, she has creatively built partnerships with schools, police and community-based organizations. 

Annette’s firm belief that conflict can have positive outcomes when the focus is preservation of relationships, collaboration and respect, has allowed her to provide children, youth and adults with conflict prevention, mediation and restorative justice practical tools to navigate the challenges they encounter in their own contexts.

Annette’s acute understanding of human systems has also granted her the opportunity to build a strong team of leaders, including CJP graduates Debbie Bayless and Greg Winship (MA’17), who she mentored and encouraged to come to CJP. Learn more about Annette's transformative work.


2017 Award – Jean Claude Nkundwa

Jean Claude Nkundwa 2014Jean Claude Nkundwa, 2014, has devoted himself to peace processes in his native Burundi. Since May 2015, he has been living in exile in Rwanda while advocating for sustainable peace and human rights in Burundi.

The award honors Nkundwa’s creative and courageous peacebuilding work that combines grassroots education and networking, trans-Africa coalition-building, engagement with multiple stakeholders, effective use of the media, and strategic advocacy at the United Nations and in Washington D.C.

Learn more about Nkundwa’s advocacy work.

2016 Award – Tammy Krause

Tammy KrauseTammy Krause, 1999, a resident of Harrisonburg, Virginia, has worked on federal capital cases throughout the United States for the past 19 years. Her involvement in the legal profession began as a graduate student at CJP, when she joined Professor Howard Zehr at the invitation of capital defense attorneys to work with victims of the Oklahoma City bombings.

She has pioneered defense-victim outreach, known as DVO, in which an independent intermediary seeks to build professional relationships between the defense attorneys and the victim’s family in an effort to ensure that victim concerns are addressed.

Learn more about Krause’s work in restorative justice.

2015 Award – Ali Gohar

Ali GoharAli Gohar, 2002, has proven himself to be devoted to the well-being of the people of his home country of Pakistan – and neighboring Afghanistan. He has persisted in introducing alternative approaches to destructive, harmful conflict. He has spread the techniques and philosophy of restorative justice and conflict transformation through traditional community councils of elders, police stations, schools, refugee camps, and even the national media.

Read more about Gohar’s work in conflict transformation.

Zehr Institute Webinars


  • Loading...