COVID-19 and EMU Learn More >

Faculty and Staff Conference

Each year, the EMU fall faculty-staff conference seeks to cultivate community among faculty and staff by welcoming new employees and providing space to reconnect with colleagues after the summer break. We seek to energize ourselves for a new academic year through worship, storytelling, thought-provoking input, conversation and fellowship.

2022 Fall Conference: “Belong Together”

This year’s conference, “Belong Together,” will help to strengthen a sense of vitality and momentum in pursuing EMU’s strategic goals for diversity, equity, and inclusion. We will explore the theme of belonging by embodying the diverse ways our community lives and works, and sharing that vibrancy with our neighbors. 

Dr. Safwat Marzouk, Associate Professor of Old Testament at Union Presbyterian Seminary will be our keynote speaker on Tuesday, August 16. His talk is entitled "Belonging and the Integration of Difference." Dr. Marzouk will assist us in exploring the idea of belonging in diversity, helping us to imagine ways to expand inclusive diversity while also strengthening EMU’s distinctive mission and identity. President Susan Huxman will provide a President’s Address on Wednesday, August 17. 

Here Together Projects

(co-sponsored by Faculty Staff Conference Planning Committee and the Community Engagement Committee)

Throughout the week (August 15-20), we will enjoy a series of planned “Here Together'' projects designed to bring a sense of joy and momentum to our work and share it with our local community. You are welcome to attend any events you'd like, but please remember to participate in the ones you signed up for. Click here to see the Here Together schedule and sign up.

Schedule of Events for Fall Conference 2022

All events and Here Together sign-up optionsConference Program: August 16-17, 2022

2022 Fall Conference Speaker - Dr. Safwat Marzouk

Presentation: "Belonging and the Integration of Difference"

Safwat Marzouk

Safwat Marzouk is an Egyptian Presbyterian whose research interests include thinking theologically about monsters in the Bible, Ancient Near East, and popular culture; Constructing the Other in the Old Testament; Middle Eastern Christian Hermeneutics; and Immigration and the Bible. The author of numerous articles and book chapters, he is the author of three books: Egypt as a Monster in the Book of Ezekiel; Exodus, Joshua, Ezekiel in the Arabic Contemporary Commentary; and Intercultural Church: A Biblical Vision for an Age of Migration. He is currently working on a commentary for the New Interpretation Series of Westminster John Knox Press: Exodus: A Commentary.

Dr. Marzouk was ordained as a pastor in 2002 by the Delta Presbytery of the Synod of the Nile (the governing body of the Presbyterian Church in Egypt), and in May 2021 he joined the Wabash Valley Presbytery of PC(USA). As a Christian Egyptian and migrant to the U.S., he interprets the Bible in ways that are interreligiously and interculturally sensitive seeking God’s shalom and justice for the vulnerable and the marginalized.

Dr. Marzouk earned a Ph.D. in Old Testament from Princeton Theological Seminary. From 2011-2021, he was an associate professor of Old Testament and Hebrew at the Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary (Elkhart, IN). He joined the faculty at Union Presbyterian Seminary (Richmond, VA) as associate professor of Old Testament in July 2021.


Previous Conferences

2021 Faculty/Staff Fall Conference: "Grow Together"
Dr. Chris Johnson, plenary speaker
Tuesday morning video 
Wednesday morning video

2018 Faculty/Staff Fall Conference: "Being or Becoming a Third Way University"
Dr. Felipe Hinojosa, plenary speaker

2017 Faculty/Staff Fall Conference
Dr. Susan Schultz Huxman, plenary speaker

2016 Faculty/Staff Fall Conference: "Embracing Diversity"
Dr. Christena Cleveland, plenary speaker
Session I
Session II

2015 Faculty/Staff Fall Conference
Storytelling: Jennifer North Bauman, Michael King, and Laura Yoder

2014 Faculty/Staff Fall Conference: “Serving and Leading.”
John Stahl-Wert, plenary speaker.
Storytelling: Linda Gnagey, Ann Hershberger, Jason Lewkowicz, Lynn Veurink, and Dee Weikle.

2013 Faculty/Staff Fall Conference: “Serving with Compassion.”
Leonard Dow, plenary speaker.
Storytelling: Tara Kishbaugh, Galen Lehman, and Andrea Wenger.

2012 Faculty/Staff Fall Conference: “Creativity in the University.”
Ted Swartz, plenary speaker.

Text Here...
visit graphicVisit
apply graphicApply