COVID-19 and EMU Learn More >


Are you a Yoder or Webb Scholar?

The Yoder and Webb Scholars competition takes place during Scholarship Weekend, held each February. 
Who can participate in the honors program? All students who receive an 'President's Scholarship' upon admission are automatically eligible to participate in the honors program. All other students may apply for entry to the honors program using the Yoder/Webb Scholarship application process outlined below. 
Who can apply for a Yoder/Webb Scholarship? Any first year student may apply for a Yoder/Webb Scholarship via the process outlined below.  

About the Competition

Each year only a few honors students are selected as Yoder/Webb Scholars and rewarded with EMU’s highest academic award: a full-tuition scholarship for all four years.

The EMU honors faculty conduct the Yoder/Webb Scholars competition, rigorously evaluating candidates’ academic performance, community and extra-curricular involvement, creativity, clarity of thought, and leadership potential. Participation in the competition requires candidates to construct a portfolio of their high school achievements, write a series of essays, and meet with a member of EMU honors faculty for a one-on-one interview.

Application Process

Complete an undergraduate application to EMU. In mid-November the EMU admissions office will send detailed instructions to all applicants who have expressed interest in the honors program and/or Yoder/Webb Scholars competition. To ensure receipt of Honors application materials, please contact your admissions counselor to request them to be sent to you. Applicants need to have the following submitted/postmarked by January 14, 2022:

  1. Two response pieces (see details below)
  2. A substantial example of your academic efforts that include the evaluation and/or comments of the teacher who issued the assignment
  3. A resume indicating school, church and civic involvement
  4. Two forms of reference (choose one person from each group): 1) your senior English, math or science teacher and 2) your school counselor, pastor/youth pastor, or employer
  5. An updated copy of your transcript that includes grades from the first semester of the current school year

The application process will culminate with an interview with a member of the honors faculty during Scholarship Weekend. Winning candidates are notified by mid-February of their selection to be a Yoder/Webb Scholar, and they have until March 15 to accept or decline the award.

Guidelines for 2022 essays

Complete the following two essays:

1. A 400-word written response: There are three types of people in the world; which are you?

2. Conceptual Response: Your task is to tell us whatever it is you want to tell us through the medium of a blank 3"×5" card used in whatever way you choose.

Please do not name your high school, self, or home area in either of these response pieces. Put your identification number on the first page of your essay (not your name) and attach it via a sticky note to your 3"×5" card. Your identification number will be sent to you by EMU or you may contact your admissions counselor to get it.

Register online to attend Scholarship Weekend and/or interview for a Yoder/Webb Scholarship by January 30, 2022.

Past Scholarship Winners

2021 Yoder/Webb scholarship recipients: Ruth Abera, Mana Acosta, Adesola Johnson, and Evan Kauffman

2020 Yoder/Webb scholarship recipients: Laurel Evans, Nathan Longenecker, Hebron Mekuria, and Noah Swartzentruber.

2019 Yoder Scholarship recipients: Seth Andreas of Bluffton, Ohio; Caleb Hostetler of Marshallville, Ohio; Jaden Jones of Lancaster, Pennsylvania; Jansen Miller of Lancaster, Pennsylvania; and Abby Olmstead of Broadway, Virginia.

2018 Yoder Scholarship recipients: Isaac Alderfer of Broadway, Virginia; Hannah Leaman of Bakersfield, California; and Allison Shelly of Collinsville, Mississippi. 

2017 Yoder Scholar recipients Silas Clymer of Collinsville, Mississippi, and Anisa Leonard of Harrisonburg, Virginia, and Nairobi, Kenya.

2016 Yoder Scholar recipients: Ariel Barbosa, Kayla Leaman and Ben Stutzman.

2015 Yoder Scholar recipients: Nicole Litwiller and Maria Yoder.

2014 Yoder Scholars recipients: Harrison Horst and Michaela Mast

Text Here...
visit graphicVisit
apply graphicApply