EMU Honors ‘Cords of Distinction’ Recipients

2008 Cords of Distinction winners, EMU senior
‘Cords of Distinction’ recipients: (seated, l. to r.) Lars A. Akerson, Benjamin W. Beitzel, Matthew R. Garber, Lisa N. King; (standing, l. to r.) Ho-Hyun Lee, Jered C. Lyons, Ral E. Nwankwo, Emi K. Oda, Joanne E. Smucker, and Matthew D. Swartley. Photo by Jim Bishop

Ten EMU seniors were honored as this year’s “Cords of Distinction” recipients in an awards ceremony held at the close of university chapel Monday, Apr. 21.

The students, nominated by faculty, staff and fellow students, were cited for exemplifying the school’s highest ideals. They will wear gold and blue cords as they graduate on Apr. 27, 2008.

Blue represents the strength of conviction that one person can help to create a better institution or community. Gold represents the love of spirit and yearning towards creating a better university environment or community in which all may take part.

The students were selected for their “significant and verifiable impact” on the university and on student life, for their contributions to developing the institution’s positive image, for substantial contributions to the Harrisonburg-Rockingham County area and beyond, for their high academic and social standing and their embodiment of EMU’s shared values of Christian discipleship, community, service and peacebuilding.

“Cords of Distinction” Recipients