Eastern Mennonite University's 2020 Cords of Distinction honorees are (top row, from left) Leah Wenger, Emily Powell, Gabby McMillon, Lindsay Acker, Donaldo Lleshi and (lower row, from left) Cheyenne Marzullo, Abigail Shelly, Justin Odom, Ariel Barbosa, and Kiara Kiah. (Courtesy photos)

EMU announces 2020 Cords of Distinction recipients

Ten graduating seniors are the 2020 Cords of Distinction recipients. They will wear blue and gold cords signifying their achievement during the 2020 Commencement, tentatively scheduled for fall 2020. More details will posted at the Commencement website when available.

Faculty, staff and fellow students nominated the recipients, who were cited for their “significant and verifiable impact” on the university and on student life; for their contributions to developing the institution’s positive image; for substantial contributions to the Harrisonburg/Rockingham County area and beyond; for their high academic and social standing; and their embodiment of EMU’s shared values of Christian discipleship, community, service and peacebuilding.

The cords are blue and gold. Blue represents strength of conviction that one person can help to create a better institution or community. Gold represents the love of spirit and yearning toward creating a better university environment or community.

The 2020 Cords of Distinction recipients are:

Lindsay Acker, a peacebuilding and development major with a minor in Honors, from Buffalo, New York;

Ariel Barbosa, a Bible, religion, & theology and sociology double-major with minors in Honors and interfaith studies from Baltimore, Maryland;

Kiara Kiah, a music performance and social work major from Portsmouth, Virginia;

Donaldo Lleshi, a biology and pre-med major from Lezhe, Albania;

Cheyenne Marzullo, a business administration major with minors in psychology and political studies from Shippensburg, Pennsylvania;

Gabby McMillon, a peacebuilding and development major with minors in Honors and sociology from Virginia;

Justin Odom, a political science and Biblical studies double-major with a minor in music performance from Williamsburg, Virginia;

Emily Powell, a global development major from Colorado Springs, Colorado;

Abigail Shelly, a liberal arts, education K-12 major with a minor in TESOL, from Collinsville, Mississippi;

Leah Wenger, a psychology and vocal performance double-major with a minor in Honors from Linville, Virginia.

Nominees for this award include Victoria Barnes, Elena Bernardi, Mim Beck, Sara Byler, Robert Chaplin, Lydia Chappell Deckert, Kiana Childress, Ally Coffey, Elizabeth Dagliano, Emily Davis, Joy Driver, Anastasia Dronov, Caroline Gehman, Megan Good, Bailey Hall, Lydia Haggard, Peter Han, Luke Hertzler, Amber Hooper, Emma Hoover, Kate Kauffman, Andy King, Melissa Kinkaid, Collin Longenecker, Liz Marin, Anali Martin, Madeline Mast, Caleb Oakes, James Paetkau, Maddie Rinehart, Fibi Souleymane, Meredith Stinnette, Phoebe Swe, Nik Tucker, Clara Weybright, and Emma Yoder.

Read tributes to the 2019 Cords of Distinction recipients.

Discussion on “EMU announces 2020 Cords of Distinction recipients

  1. Congratulations! Very deserving group of beautiful young people to represent EMU leading and serving!!

Comments are closed.