Ten 2018 Cords of Distinction recipients honored for contributions to EMU community and beyond

Ten graduating seniors will be honored as Cords of Distinction recipients in a ceremony Saturday afternoon, May 5, at Eastern Mennonite University (EMU). They will wear gold and blue cords during the graduation ceremony on Sunday, May 6.

Faculty, staff and fellow students nominated the recipients, who were cited for their “significant and verifiable impact” on the university and on student life; for their contributions to developing the institution’s positive image; for substantial contributions to the Harrisonburg/Rockingham County area and beyond; for their high academic and social standing; and their embodiment of EMU’s shared values of Christian discipleship, community, service and peacebuilding.

The cords are blue and gold. Blue represents strength of conviction that one person can help to create a better institution or community. Gold represents the love of spirit and yearning toward creating a better university environment or community.

Cords of Distinction recipients

  • Emily Clatterbuck, an English education (secondary licensure) major with minors in Spanish and writing studies, from Grottoes, Virginia;
  • Drew Diaz, a biology major, from New Market, Virginia;
  • Harrison Horst, a sociology major with minors in environmental sustainability and international development, from Landisville, Pennsylvania;
  • Maleke Jones, a psychology major with a minor in pre-law, from Charles Town, West Virginia;
  • Keyri Lopez-Godoy, a liberal arts major with elementary education licensure, from Charlottesville, Virgina;
  • Michaela Mast, a psychology major with minors in neuroscience, music and honors, from Broadway, Virginia;
  • Katrina Poplett, a peacebuilding and development major with minors in Spanish and sociology, from Plymouth, Minnesota;
  • Caleb Shrock-Hurst, an English major with minors in history and music, from Harrisonburg, Virginia;
  • Brittany Williams, a recreational leadership and sports studies major with minors in psychology, coaching, kinesiology and exercise science, from King George, Virginia;
  • Elizabeth Witmer, a social work major, with minors in Spanish and sociology, from Newville, Pennslyvania.

Nominees for this award include: Perry Blosser, Sarah Boshart, Rachel Breidigan, Johanna Burkholder, Julian Bussells, Timothy Callahan, Victoria Campbell, Antonio De Jesus, Aaron Dunmore, Elizabeth Eutsler, Ryan Faraci, Colton Frey, Liesl Graber, Meghan Greene, Abram Hartzler, Braden Herman, Rachel Holderman, Austin Huff, John (Jack) Hummel, Samantha Kauffman, Katherine Lehman, William (Daniel) Lutz, Sierra Martin, Grayson Mast, Lania McKoy, Cerrie Mendoza, Anna Messer, Taylor Mirarchi, Taylor Mortensen, Jonatan Moser, Amanda Olsen, Sonya Peters, Sarah Lee Regan, Erika (Da’Jahnea) Robinson, Wenfeng (Roy) Ruan, Susanna Sewall, Sara Shenk Moreno, Hannah Shultz, Stephanie Slabach Brubaker, Marcy Smucker, William Stanley, Rachel Sturm, Alejandra Tejada Rivera, Delight Tigoe, Lara Weaver, Alexa Weeks, Amanda Williams, Jing Chuan Wu, Ayhubrhan (Ayu) Yifru.