The Old Dominion Athletic Conference recognized 16 EMU student-athletes on its sportmanship teams, including Brooke Hensley (center). (Photo by Scott Eyre)

Royals named to ODAC sportsmanship teams

Eastern Mennonite University is pleased to announce its members on the 2013-14 Old Dominion Athletic Conference Sportsmanship Teams.  The Royals had a student-athlete honored in each of their sports which are sponsored by the ODAC.  This is the fifth year the league has recognized standout student-athletes for their excellence in sportsmanship.

“I am pleased that the conference recognizes student-athletes for their focus on fair play and sportsmanship,” explained ODAC Commissioner Brad Bankston.  “The conference prides itself on positive sportsmanship and encouraging student-athletes to lead by example.  Each one of the honorees has been selected by the coaches in recognition of their conduct in the arena.  My hat is off to these student-athletes – thanking them for the example they set for all of us.”

The ODAC has a rich tradition in promoting fair play and good sportsmanship in each sport across the league.  The character of the conference’s student-athletes on and off the field is a representation of not only the individuals and teams, but also the institutions they play for.

Eastern Mennonite’s selections to the ODAC Sportsmanship Teams are listed below:

Baseball – Jonathan Estrada
Basketball (Men) – Trey Barrett
Basketball (Women) – Steph Rheinheimer
Cross Country (Men) – Alec Thibodeaux
Cross Country (Women) – Krista Rittenhouse
Field Hockey – Brianna Kauffman
Golf (Men) – Zach Bowles
Golf (Women) – Brittany McDonaldson
Indoor Track & Field (Men) – Jordan King
Indoor Track & Field (Women) – Krista Rittenhouse
Outdoor Track & Field  (Men) – Ryan Gehman
Outdoor Track & Field  (Women) – Hannah Patterson
Soccer (Men) – Jonathan Bush
Soccer (Women) – Sam Winkler
Softball – Brooke Hensley
Volleyball – Jessica Goertzen