Eastern Mennonite University's 2021 Cords of Distinction honorees include: top row, from left, Akiel Baker, Naomi Davis, Maya Dula, Brandon Higgins, Amanda Jasper; second row, from left, Anisa Leonard, Mariana Martinez-Hernandez, Ambrose Monahan, Hannah Nichols and Jakiran Richardson. (Courtesy photos)

EMU honors ten seniors with Cords of Distinction

Ten graduating seniors are the 2021 Cords of Distinction recipients. They will receive blue and gold cords signifying their achievement to wear with other academic regalia to the Cords of Distinction ceremony and during the 2021 Commencement Walk.

Faculty, staff and fellow students nominated the recipients, who were cited for their “significant and verifiable impact” on the university and on student life; for their contributions to developing the institution’s positive image; for substantial contributions to the Harrisonburg/Rockingham County area and beyond; for their high academic and social standing; and their embodiment of EMU’s shared values of Christian discipleship, community, service and peacebuilding.

The cords are blue and gold. Blue represents strength of conviction that one person can help to create a better institution or community. Gold represents the love of spirit and yearning toward creating a better university environment or community.

The 2021 Cords of Distinction recipients are:

Akiel Baker, a social work major from Bowie, Maryland;

Naomi Davis, a peacebuilding and development major with minors in global studies and religious and intercultural studies, from Richmond, Virginia;

Maya Dula, a biology (pre-med) major, from Lancaster City, Pennsylvania;

Brandon Higgins, a psychology major from Culpeper, Virginia;

Amanda Jasper, a social work major with a minor in psychology from Madison, Virginia;

Anisa Leonard, a social work major with minors in Honors, sociology and global development, from Nairobi, Kenya, and Harrisonburg, Virginia;

Mariana Martinez-Hernandez, a peacebuilding major from Tegucigalpa, Honduras;

Ambrose Monahan, a double major in art and Bible, religion and theology with an Honors minor, from Midlothian, Virginia;

Hannah Nichols, a liberal arts and elementary education major with a minor in business administration, from Centerville, Ohio, and Fredericksburg, Virginia;

Jakiran Richardson, a biology major with a psychology minor, from Virginia Beach, Virginia.

Nominees include: Justice Allen, Ethan Beiler, Silas Clymer, Megan Breidigan, Hailey Edmonds, Lauren Hartzler, Tiffany Heishman, Aaron Horst, Elizabeth Miller, Adam Peachey, Emma Pirrung, Addison Shenk, Matthew Troyer, Summer Williams, Austin Yoder.