EMU Basketball Star Todd Phillips

Basketball Star Todd Phillips Named VaSID All-State First Team

Senior forward Todd Phillips (Waynesboro, Va./Waynesboro) led the Runnin Royals in four statistical categories this past season. The All-American also finished as Eastern Mennonite’s career leader in steals. After a heavy dose of postseason awards, Phillips wraps up his list by being named All-State First Team by the Virginia Sports Information Director Association (VaSID).

Phillips, the 2011 ODAC Player of the Year, topped Eastern Mennonite with a 18.2 points per game scoring average, as well as 3.2 assists, 2.2 steals and 6.2 free throw attempts per contest. He also grabbed 5.7 rebounds and finished top four in the ODAC in five major categories. The senior was also named All-American by both NABC and D3Hoops.com

In 2010, Phillips was named the VaSID Player of the Year. He also leaves EMU as one of the top players in school history. Phillips set the career steals mark at 188 picks and is one of only two players to finish in the top ten of career points, rebounds and assists. Leonard Dow, EMU’s career leader in both scoring and rebounding and member of the Hall of Honor, is the other.

Ferrum College forward Derek Mitchell has been selected as the VaSID’s Player of the Year, Virginia Wesleyan College head coach Dave Macedo named Coach of the Year and VWC freshman guard D.J. Woodmore earned Rookie of the Year honors.

Mitchell, a 6-5 senior forward, earned First Team All-America honors this season from the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) after a stellar season for the Panthers. He was named USA South Player of the Year, D3Hoops.com South Region Player of the Year and NABC District III Player of the Year.

Mitchell averaged 19.7 points and 13.2 rebounds per game and wrapped up a tremendous career as Ferrum’s all-time leading rebounder and second all-time leading scorer. The Ferrum senior was a 2009-10 All-State Second Team member and the 2007-08 VaSID Rookie of the Year.

The Coach of the Year nod is the fifth honor in last eight seasons for Macedo, who again led one of the top teams in Division III in Virginia Wesleyan. He guided the Marlins to a 25-5 record in 2010-11 and a berth in the NCAA Division III Sweet 16. It was the seventh straight trip to the NCAA Tournament for VWC and the 17th consecutive winning season for Macedo.

The 2010-11 VaSID Rookie of the Year was Woodmore, who was also named the D3Hoops.com National Rookie of the Year as well as to the 2011 DIIINews National All-Freshman Team. He also earned ODAC Rookie of the Year laurels and was tabbed the D3Hoops.com South Region Rookie of the Year as well. Woodmore led the Marlins in made field goals, made three-pointers, free-throw percentage and scoring. He averaged 13.8 points and 5.2 rebounds per game while knocking down 47.7% of his shots.

2011 VaSID College Division All-State Men’s Basketball Team
Player of the Year: Derek Mitchell, Ferrum
Coach of the Year: Dave Macedo, Virginia Wesleyan
Rookie of the Year: D.J. Woodmore, Virginia Wesleyan

First Team
Harrison George, Hampden-Sydney
Isaih Harrison, Apprentice School
Derek Mitchell, Ferrum
Todd Phillips, Eastern Mennonite
Conley Taylor, Christopher Newport

Second Team
Tevin Andrews, Apprentice School
Spenser Briggs, Southern Virginia
Nate Campbell, Lynchburg
Colton Hunt, Randolph College
Danny Jones, Randolph-Macon