EMU retirees (l. to r.): George R. Brunk III, Arlene Wiens, Vi Horst, Jim Bishop and Anil Solanki. Photo by Lindsey Kolb

EMU Gives Service Awards

The faculty and staff of Eastern Mennonite University honored five colleagues who are retiring during the school’s annual recognition dinner Tuesday evening, May 3.

James V. (Jim) Bishop will retire June 30 after 40 years as public information officer. In addition to managing the news bureau and writing copy for university publications, Bishop hosted programs on local radio stations WEMC-FM, WSVA and WBTX, wrote a weekly column, Bishop’s Mantle” for the Harrisonburg Daily News-Record, an occasional column, “Virginia Ham” for Mennonite Weekly Review, Newton, Kan., and wrote essays for HealthQuest, the Rockingham Memorial Hospital magazine.

George R. Brunk III, dean emeritus and professor emeritus at Eastern Mennonite Seminary, has taught in the area of New Testament at EMS since 1974. He was vice president and seminary dean from 1977-1999. In 2009-10, he was interim president at Associated Mennonite Biblical Seminary in Elkhart, Ind. Dr. Brunk has a forthcoming commentary on the book of Galatians for the “Believer’s Church Commentary.”

Violet (Vi) Horst, assistant professor of nursing and a certified pediatric nurse practitioner, has taught at EMU since 1993. In addition to teaching child health at EMU, she works part time in the Children’s Medical Center at the University of Virginia and plans to continue teaching there after retiring from EMU.

Arlene G. Wiens joined the faculty in 1986. She serves as chair of EMU’s nursing department and teaches in the BS and MS in nursing programs.  In addition, she has been a member of several state wide nursing committees. Dr. Wiens’ research interests include educational mobility for RNs, transition into practice and historical analysis of nursing supply and demand.

EMU President Loren Swartzendruber presented the retirees with a gift and a plaque during the ceremonies. They also received tributes from their colleagues.

Anil D. Solanki, an adjunct faculty member at Eastern Mennonite Seminary, was given special “honorary retiree” status. Dr. Solanki, a native of India, teaches Hebrew in the seminary. In 1969, the Bible Society of India commissioned Solanki to begin work on a new translation of the  Bible into his native language, Gujarati. Working with his wife, Shaila, he completed the 35-year project in 2004.

Forty-year service awards were presented to Beryl H. Brubaker, director of Hartzler Library, and to Jim Bishop, public information officer.

Thirty-five year service awards were given to Galen Lehman, psychology department chair, and Samuel O. Weaver, associate director of development.

Lewis Driver, multi-tradesman in physical plant, received a 30-year service award.

Twenty-five year service awards went to Ann G. Hershberger, professor in the BS and MS in nursing programs; Renee Leap, associate director of financial assistance; Audrey Shenk, automation coordinator and acquisitions administrator, Hartzler Library; and Arlene G. Wiens, nursing department chair.

Twenty-year certificates: Bonnie Bowser, circulation and office manager, Hartzler Library; Kim G. Brenneman, professor of psychology; Karen Cline, accounts payable coordinator; Roger Mast, associate professor of physical education and head men’s soccer coach; Linford Stutzman, associate professor of culture and religion, Bible and religion department; and Lonnie D. Yoder, associate dean and professor of pastoral care and counseling, EMS.

Fifteen years:  Beth Bergman, seminary registrar; Melody Cash, associate professor of nursing; Sue Cockley, Adult Degree Completion Program director; Michael Downey, head athletic trainer; Joan Griffing, music department chair; Theodore (Ted) Grimsrud, professor of Bible and religion; Ed Lehman, assistant director, physical plant; Cindy Mathews, office manager, music department; Marci Myers, special events assistant, church relations and development; Twila K. Yoder, assistant to the president; and Howard Zehr, professor of restorative justice, Center for Justice and Peacebuilding.

Ten years: Doug Blyer, fleet and equipment coordinator, physical plant; Jayne Docherty, professor of leadership and public policy, Center for Justice and Peacebuilding; Michele Hensley, director of financial assistance; Douglas C. (Doug) Hertzler, associate director, WCSC-Washington Community Scholars Center (WCSC), Washington, D.C., and associate professor of anthropology; Brenda Martin, accounts receivable billing coordinator; Lawrence W. (Laurie) Miller, director of student programs and recreational sports; Janelle Myers-Benner, academic program coordinator, Center for Justice and Peacebuilding; Linden Rhodes, custodian, physical plant; Samuel R. (Sam) Sauder, user support analyst, Information Systems; and Mark Metzler Sawin, history department chair.

Five years: Mary Kay Adams, executive director, Shenandoah Valley Bach Festival; Laura Lehman Amstutz, assistant in seminary admissions and seminary communications coordinator; Arthur (Art) Borden, associate director of development; Tony Brenneman, structural supervisor, physical plant; Beth Brunk, registration coordinator, registrar’s office; Peter Dula, assistant professor of Bible and religion; Violet (Vi) Dutcher, language and literature department chair; Toni Flanagan, associate professor of education; Jason Good, associate director of undergraduate admissions; Diann Harman, custodial assistant, physical plant.

Also Greta Ann Herin, associate professor of biology; Phoebe Kilby, associate director of development, Center for Justice and Peacebuilding; James M. (Jim) Leaman, associate professor of business and economics; Marvin Lorenzana, director of multicultural services; Dawn Nyce, interlibrary loan/serials coordinator, Hartzler Library; Mary Parakuo, custodian, physical plant; Lisa Rodino, associate director of undergraduate admissions; Matthew Siderhurst, associate professor of chemistry; Travis Trotter, assistant registrar; Margaret Upton, health services director; Heidi Winters Vogel, associate professor of theater, and Lois B. Wenger, receptionist and phonation coordinator, development department.