EMU Field Hockey Senior Co-Caption Hailee Rittle
Three field hockey student-athletes, including senior co-caption Hailee Rittle, were honored by the Virginia Sports Information Directors and named to the All-State Second Team.

Three Field Hockey Women Named All-State Second Team

Three players from the Lady Royals field hockey team were honored by the Virginia Sports Information Directors and named to the All-State Second Team. Senior co-captains Hailee Rittle (Jonestown, Pa./Northern Lebanon) and Vanessa Landis (Quakertown, Pa./Quakertown) were each named Second Team along with freshman Morgan Spicher (Belleville, Pa./Belleville Mennonite).

EMU Student-Athlete Vanessa Landis
Vanessa Landis
EMU Student-Athlete Hailee Rittle
Hailee Rittle
EMU Student-Athlete Morgan Spicher
Morgan Spicher

Rittle, a defensive midfielder, had a career year and was third for the Lady Royals with 17 points as she had five goals and tied for the team lead with seven assists. She was also 3-for-3 in penalty strokes.

Landis helped anchor a defense which ranked third in ODAC play, allowing just 2.0 goals per game. Both Landis and Rittle were named All-ODAC First Team.

Spicher was consistently a force on the defensive side of the field despite missing six mid-season games with an injury. She recorded a pair of defensive saves and made her way forward for one assist and was also named ODAC Rookie of the Year.

The Lady Royals field hockey team finished the year 10-9 after a semifinal loss to eventual champion Lynchburg. EMU was also 4-3 in ODAC play.

Other Virginia Sports Information Directors Honorees

Lynchburg’s Jenny Weir was named the All-State College Division Player of the Year Award in a vote by the Virginia Sports Information Directors. Lauren Seal from Randolph-Macon earned Rookie of the Year honors and Lynchburg’s Enza Steele and Randolph-Macon’s Crystal Carper earned co-Coach of the Year accolades.

Weir follows in the footsteps of older sister and 2010 LC graudate Allie Weir, the All-State Player of the Year the last two years. Jenny Weir led the ODAC this fall with 20 goals and 50 points and tied for the top spot in assists (10).

Seal, a freshman attacker, was an honorable mention all-conference performer this year for the Yellow Jackets. She tallied 13 goals and seven assists and netted five game-winning tallies.

Carper was voted the ODAC Coach of the Year, leading the Yellow Jackets to a 13-7 record and a 6-1 mark in conference play. R-MC tied the most wins in program history. Steele led the Hornets to their fifth-straight ODAC title in 2010. LC finished the season 17-4 and defeated Christopher Newport University in the first-round of the NCAA Division III Tournament.

Complete 2010 VaSID All-State Field Hockey Teams

Player of the Year: Jenny Weir, Lynchburg College
Rookie of the Year: Lauren Seal, Randolph-Macon
Co-Coaches of the Year: Crystal Carper, Randolph-Macon and Enza Steele, Lynchburg College

All-State First Team
Morgan Jones, Mary Washington
Kelly Tran, Washington & Lee
Jenny Weir, Lynchburg

Caitlin Cahill, Christopher Newport
Emmy Mathews, Washington & Lee
Shelly Milks, Lynchburg

Erin Claire Cassidy, Randolph-Macon
Kristen Haynor, Mary Washington
Brianna Milne, Christopher Newport
Katelyn Yandle, Christopher Newport

Brittany Bradsher, Christopher Newport

All-State Second Team
Lindsay Leonard, Lynchburg
Mary McCarthy, Randolph-Macon
Lauren Seal, Randolph-Macon

Kalah Hess, Bridgewater
Monica Jenkins, Randolph-Macon
Hailee Rittle, Eastern Mennonite
Amanda Wain, Lynchburg

Caitlin Gibb, Lynchburg
Vanessa Landis, Eastern Mennonite
Morgan Spicher, Eastern Mennonite

Tiffany Frye, Lynchburg