EMU Gives Service Awards, Cites Retirees

Wendy Miller, Ron Piper, and Joyce Hedrick of EMU

The faculty and staff of EMU honored three colleagues who are retiring and cited 47 others for years of service at the school’s annual recognition dinner Tuesday evening, May 4.

Ron Piper

Wendy Miller Ronald E. (Ron) Piper, vice president for finance, retired Apr. 30 after 24 years as an administrator. The EMU Board of Trustees awarded Piper “administrator emeritus” status at its March meeting.

Piper served as chief financial officer of the university, responsible for the development and final preparation of the annual operating and capital budgets. He handled financial compliance, oversaw internal control policies and procedures, provided strategic information concerning finances and represented the institution in external business transactions. He gave oversight to the business, human resources, physical plant, financial assistance and auxiliary services departments.

Wendy Miller

Wendy Miller Wendy J. Miller, assistant professor of spiritual formation at the seminary, will retire after 19 years on the EMS faculty. The EMU Board of Trustees awarded Miller professor emerita status at its March meeting. Along with teaching, Miller has been a retreat speaker and spiritual director and developed “SoulSpace,” a guide for scripture reading and prayer on EMU’s web site.

She has written several books, “Invitation to Presence: A Guide to Spiritual Disciplines” (Upper Room Books, 1995) and “Jesus, Our Spiritual Director: A Pilgrimage through the Gospels” (Upper Room Books, 2004) and writes a monthly column on spiritual formation in “Lectionary Homiletics.”

Joyce Hedrick

Joyce Hedrick Joyce C. Hedrick is retiring after 17 years at EMU, serving most recently as disability support services coordinator in the Academic Support Center. She did presentations on attention deficit disorder and about students with disabilities and their transitions into college and university settings.

Hedrick was a pastor in Hawaii and Pennsylvania, an administrator and a secondary school teacher before coming to EMU. She is active at Harrisonburg Mennonite Church.

EMU President Loren Swartzendruber presented the retirees with a gift and a plaque during the ceremonies. They also received tributes from their colleagues.

Use the EMU personnel directory for more info on faculty and staff awarded for service.

35 years

Thirty-five year service awards were presented to John W. Fast, assistant professor of music and assistant to Global Village curriculum; and Betty J. Hertzler, mail services supervisor, EMU post office.

Anita B. Weaver, office coordinator for the Adult Degree Completion Program, received a 30-year service award.

25 years

Twenty-five year service awards went to Evelyn E. (Evie) King, custodial services supervisor, physical plant; Martin G. (Marty) King, audio-visual manager, information systems; Roman J. Miller, Daniel B. Suter endowed professor of biology; and Dorothy Jean Weaver, professor of New Testament, Eastern Mennonite Seminary.

20 years

Twenty years: Gretchen H. Maust, office coordinator, visual and communication arts and assistant coordinator, Abrahamic Center; and Teresa L. Puckett, lead custodian, physical plant.

15 years

Fifteen years: Harlan deBrun, instructor, physical education and recreation department; Elroy J. Miller, associate professor, applied social sciences department; Jennifer L. (Jenni) Piper, user services manager, information systems; Don A. Yoder, director of seminary admissions; and Nathan E. (Nate) Yoder, associate professor of church history, Eastern Mennonite Seminary and archivist in Hartzler Library.

10 years

Ten years: Jason H. Alderfer, network systems administrator, information systems; Beth K. Aracena, associate dean for curriculum, cross-cultural programs; Lora L. Baker, custodian, physical plant; Stephen Cessna, associate professor of chemistry; Kenton T. Derstine, director of Clinical Pastoral Education and field education and placement, Eastern Mennonite Seminary; Cheryl D. Doss, secretary-coordinator, Suter Science Center; Linda W. Gnagey, director, Academic Support Center; Philip J. (Phil) Guengerich, events coordinator, athletics; Valerie M. Helbert, associate director, Summer Peacebuilding Institute, Center for Justice and Peacebuilding; Terrance L. (Terry) Jantzi, associate professor, applied social sciences department; Jonathan A. (Jon) Kratz, director, international student services; Linda L. Sauder, office assistant, Adult Degree Completion Program; Karen J. Weaver, hostess at the EMU Guesthouse; and Leslie K. Weaver, office assistant, financial assistance.

5 years

Five years: Joan B. (Joni) Baughman, administrative assistant, student life division; Steven A. (Steve) Benson, head coach, men’s and women’s volleyball; William R. (Bill) Culbreth, assistant professor, business and economics department; Katherine B. (Katie) Derstine, secretary/receptionist, registrar’s office; Annmarie L. Early, associate professor, MA in counseling program; Laura H. Esch, office coordinator, nursing department; William H. (Bill) Goldberg, associate director, Summer Peacebuilding Institute; Kevin J. Griffin, head coach, women’s basketball; Sonia L. (Jeanne) Horst, assistant professor of psychology, Julia M. Hottinger, custodian, physical plant; Steven D. Johnson, associate professor of visual and communication arts.

Also David A. (Dave) King, athletic director; Jonathan L. Lantz-Trissel, recycling and water reduction coordinator, physical plant; Philip M. (Mark) Mace, head men’s baseball coach; Joy Y. Martin, office coordinator, applied social sciences department; Daniel B. (Dan) Risser, user services hardware support, information systems; Kirk L. Shisler, vice president for advancement; Walter W. (Walt) Surratt, assistant professor, business and economics department; Cynthia E. (Cindy) Voth, assistant director of housing and residence life; and Linda E. Witmer, associate professor/assessment counselor, EMU at Lancaster.

MCC language assistants

Mennonite Central Committee language assistants Norman Aguilera of Nicaragua, Sara Hanna of Egypt and Alexandra Montoya of Columbia were also recognized during the ceremonies.