EMU Cites Retirees, Gives Service Awards

EMU retirees
EMU retirees (l. to r.): Ruth Ann Burkholder, Harold E. Huber, Daniel E. Marple, Sr., Joseph W. Mast, Monroe E. Wood. Photo by Jim Bishop

The faculty and staff of Eastern Mennonite University recognized five colleagues who are retiring and cited more than 40 others for long years of service during the school’s annual recognition dinner held May 3.

The retirees are: Ruth Ann Burkholder, information office coordinator, EMU Campus Center, 17 years; Harold E. Huber, Menno Simons Historical Library and Archives assistant, 30 years; Joseph W. Mast, professor of computer science, 37 years, and director of the M.T. Brackbill Planetarium since 1986; Daniel E. Marple, Sr., systems consultant, Information Systems, 10 years; and Monroe E. Wood, head groundskeeper, physical plant, 42 years.

The five received engraved plaques and their choice of a cash gift or captain’s chair from President Loren E. Swartzendruber. They were also given special tributes by their respective departments.

Heading the list of service award recipients was Paul T. Guengerich, EMU administrator emeritus, with 40 years. Although long retired, Guengerich continues to work part time in the alumni and parent relations office, compiling news on alumni activities for the university’s “Crossroads” magazine.

A. Clair Mellinger, professor of biology and curator of the D.R. Hostetter Museum of Natural History, received a 35-year certificate.

Thirty-year service awards were presented to John W. Fast, assistant professor of music; and Betty J. Hertzler, post office supervisor.

Anita B. Weaver, office coordinator for EMU’s Adult Degree Completion Program, received a 25-year service certificate.

Recognized for 20 years of service were: Evelyn E. King, custodial service supervisor; Martin G. (Marty) King, Learning Resources manager; Roman J. Miller, professor of biology; Dorothy Jean Weaver, professor of New Testament, Eastern Mennonite Seminary; and Nancy B. Yoder, instructor in teacher education and assessment counselor in Adult Degree Completion Program.

Fifteen-year service awards went to: Loretta Z. Hawkins, administrative computing manager; Teresa L. Puckett, Suter Science Center custodian; and Richard A. (Rick) Yoder, professor of business and economics.

Ten years: Richard L. Benner, assistant professor of communication; Melody A. Cash, instructor in nursing; Harlan DeBrun, instructor in physical education and men’s and women’s tennis coach; Elroy J. Miller, associate professor of social work; Jennifer L. Piper, user services manager, Information Systems; Lynn D. Quay, project assistant, Conflict Transformation Program; Don A. Yoder, director of admissions-seminary and graduate programs; Nathan E. Yoder, associate professor of church history, Eastern Mennonite Seminary; and Mark H. Zollinhofer, director of instructional technology, Information Systems.

Five years: Jason H. Alderfer, Information Systems; Beth K. Aracena, music; Lora L. Baker, custodial services; Stephen Cessna, chemistry; Mary Beth Chenault, advancement; Kenton T. Derstine, Clinical Pastoral Education, seminary; Cheryl D. Doss, Suter Science Center; Jon Michael Eberly, marketing services; Michele Funkhouser, nursing department; Linda W. Gnagey, Academic Support Center; Philip J. Guengerich, athletic events; Valerie M. Helbert, conferences and events; L. Brent Hershey, marketing services; Terrence L. Jantzi, sociology; Jonathan A. Kratz, international student services; Jean B. Ndayizigiye, custodial services; Linda L. Sauder, Adult Degree Completion Program; Greg S. Steffen, women’s soccer coach; Karen J. Weaver, EMU Guest House; Leslie K. Weaver, financial assistance; and Shirley B. Yoder, marketing and enrollment.

Language assistants and campus volunteers were also recognized during the ceremonies.