Faculty/Staff Speakers

Kingdom-Correct in a Politically Driven World

& Faculty/Staff Speakers, School for Leadership Training, Seminary, Student Speakers.

As part of EMU’s MLK celebration events, guest speaker at School for Leadership Training, Chris Johnson, speaks on “Being Kingdom-Correct in a Politically Driven World”.

Opening Convocation: Called to Serve and Lead

& Faculty/Staff Speakers, University Chapels.

The Campus Community gathers to hear President Loren Swartzendruber open spring semester with the convocation address, “Called to Serve and Lead.”  The scripture reference is Matthew 20:25-28. The gathered community also commissions and sends the India and Guatemala/U.S.-Mexico Border cross-cultural seminar groups at the close of the service.

Fall Semester Opening Convocation

& Cross-Cultural Groups, Faculty/Staff Speakers, University Chapels.

President Loren Swartzendruber addresses the campus community with the message, “Prepare to Serve and Lead,” followed by a sending blessing for the South Africa Cross Cultural group.

Seminary Convocation–Dr. Ervin Stutzman

& Chapel Gathering in the Seminary, Faculty/Staff Speakers, Seminary.

Dr. Ervin Stutzman, Dean of the Seminary at EMU, welcomes students to EMS with his convocation address titled,  “Preparing to Serve and Lead in a Global context.”

2009 Commencement

& 2009 Commencement, Commencement, Faculty/Staff Speakers, Student Speakers.

EMU celebrates the University’s 91st Annual Commencement. Joyce Bontrager Lehman  of the Bill & Melinda Gates foundation offers the Commencement address, Opportunities are for Taking.  Bontrager Lehman began her career in international economic development with Mennonite Economic Development Associates.  From 2003-2007, she spent most of her time in Afghanistan working with the World bank, USAID… Read more »

2009 Baccalaureate

& 2009 Commencement, Commencement, Faculty/Staff Speakers, Student Speakers.

EMU celebrates the University’s 91st Annual Commencement in this Baccalaureate Service. Dr. Lori Leaman, associate professor of education, addresses the community with her speech, “Knowing Whom, not What.”

2009 Seminary Commencement

& 2009 Commencement, Commencement, Faculty/Staff Speakers, Student Speakers.

Eastern Mennonite Seminary celebrates the Sixtieth Annual Commencement with an address by Willard M. Swartley, and Senior Class Salutation by John Michael Metzler.  Swartley, Professor emeritus of New Testament at Associated Mennonite Biblical Seminary, draws from John 15: 1-5, 8:-11, 16-17, and Galatians 5:22-23 for his Commencement Address.

2009 Nurses’ Pinning

& 2009 Commencement, Commencement, Faculty/Staff Speakers, Student Speakers.

The Spring semester nursing graduates celebrate the completion of their Nursing degrees in this traditional pinning ceremony. A few of the graduating Nurses share reflections of the past four years, and each graduate choses someone to pin them as nursing professor Laura Glick Yoder shares the graduate’s plans for the next phase in their life.

Reasoning Together: A Conversation on Homosexuality

& Faculty/Staff Speakers.

Ted Grimsrud and Mark Thiessen Nation, two theologians and EMU professors, argue both sides of one of the issues vexing the postmodern church: homosexuality. They engage in respectful yet passionate give-and-take over the differences between them as well as areas of agreement and consensus.  Ted & Mark’s recently released book, Reasoning Together: A Conversation on… Read more »

For God So Loved the World – Lee Snyder

& Faculty/Staff Speakers, University Chapels.

In this Spring Semester Opening Convocation, Interim Provost, Dr. Lee Snyder addresses the campus community based on Genesis 1, John 1:1-5 and John 3:16-17.  Convocation closes with a time of sending for the India and Guatemala Cross-cultural seminar groups.